Education/Professional Associations:

Professor of Medicine, Physiology and Biophysics; Emeritus Chief of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Nutrition; Director of the Bone Health Care Clinic and the Director of the Heliotherapy, Light, and Skin Research Center at the Boston University Medical Center.


Dr. Holick has made numerous contributions to the field of the biochemistry, physiology, metabolism, and photobiology of vitamin D for human nutrition. Dr. Holick has established global recommendations advising sunlight exposure as an integral source of vitamin D. He has helped increase awareness in the pediatric and medical communities regarding vitamin D deficiency pandemic, and its role in causing not only metabolic bone disease, and osteoporosis in adults, but increasing risk of children and adults developing common deadly cancers, schizophrenia, infectious diseases including TB and influenza, autoimmune diseases including type 1 diabetes and multiple sclerosis, type 2 diabetes, stroke and heart disease. He published over 550 manuscripts in well-respected peer-reviewed journals and more than 200 reviews and book chapters. He has acted as editor and/or co-editor on 13 books, and has written The UV Advantage in 2004 and The Vitamin D Solution in 2010. There have been more than 100,000 citations for his work in the field of calcium, vitamin D and bone metabolism. He served as the Chair for the Endocrine Society’s Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee for Vitamin D.

Dr. Holick has received numerous awards for my research activities including: The Linus Pauling Prize in Human Nutrition, The Linus Pauling Functional Medicine Award, The General Clinical Research Center’s Program Award for Excellence in Clinical Research from the National Institutes of Health, and the Louis Avioli Award from the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, just to name a few.  He was recognized by Thompson Reuters as one of the most influential scientific minds for 2014.

Contributions to Orthomolecular Medicine

Orthomolecular Medicine Hall of Fame

Inducted 2019